Indian Association of Veterinary Pathologists

(Established in 1974 at Izatnagar, registered under the Societies Registration Act of India; original registration No. 802/1980-81)

www.iavp.org

(HQ: Division of Pathology, Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar)

IAVP AWARDS 2014-15

1. Young Scientist Awards – 2015

A. SKM Animal Feeds and Food Ltd. Young Scientist Award for the Best Oral Presentation Award

Dr. S. Pavulraj: On paper entitled 'Pathology of equine influenza virus (H3N8) and vaccine efficacy studies in novel small animal model'? **Co-authors:** N. Virmani, B.C. Bera, T. Anand, M. Virmani, A. Joshi and B.N. Tripathi

B. Narmada Hatcheries Young Scientist Award for the Second Best Oral Presentation Award

Dr. M. Nilakanthan: On paper entitled 'Ameliorative effect of nano curcumin in den induced hepatocarcigenesis in rats: Pathomorphological studies.' **Co-authors:** C. Balachandran, G. Dinakar Raj, R. Sridhar, S. Selvasubramanian and R.M. Pawar

2. Best Poster Presentation Awards – 2015

A. Savitree Jibach Best Poster Presentation Award

Dr. Rajiv Ranjan: Paper entitled 'Evidence of vertical transmission of foot and mouth disease virus transmission from cow to fetus.' **Co-authors:** J.K. Biswal, K.P. Singh, K. Arzt and B. Pattnaik

B. Organizing Secretary Best Poster Presentation Award

Dr. B. Manjhunatha Reddy: Paper entitled 'Molecular diagnosis and epidemiology of animal rabies'. **Co-authors:** Sumam, K., R. Singh, K.P. Singh, S.S. Patil and H. Rahman

3. IJVP Awards – 2014 for Best Papers

A. Dr. C.M. Singh Award – 2014 for the Best Full Research Article

Dr. Megha Pandey: Paper entitled 'Studies on apoptosis caused by vaccine and field strains of infectious bursal disease virus.' *Indian Journal of Veterinary Pathology*, **38(3):** 173-180, 2014. **Co-authors:** D.K. Agarwal and V. Gupta

B. Dr. S. Damodaran Award – 2014 for the Best Cancer Case

Dr. C.A. Chavan: Paper entitled 'Immunohistochemical study of a rare case of bovine ameloblastoma'. *Indian Journal of Veterinary Pathology*, **38(4):** 275-277, 2014. **Coauthors:** M.P. Kaore, A.D. Ingle, N.V. Kurkure, S.B. Akhare and A.G. Bhandarkar

C. Dr. B.S. Rajya Award – 2014 for the Best Short/Rapid Communication

Dr. S. Pathania: Paper entitled 'Cystosonography as an aid in diagnosis of urinary bladder cancer in enzootic bovine haematuria'. *Indian Journal of Veterinary Pathology*, **38(2):** 112-118, 2014. **Co-authors:** P. Kumar, M. Hoque and R. Somvanshi

D. Gang-Mana Sharma Award – 2014 for the Best Article on Pack Animals

Dr. S.D. Narnaware: Paper entitled 'Lung abscess in a dromedary camel (*Camalus dromedarius*)'. *Indian Journal of Veterinary Pathology*, **38(4):** 278-280, 2014. **Coauthors:** S.S. Dahiya, G. Nagarajan and F.C. Tuteja

4. Best Post Graduate Thesis Awards

A. Dr. Ram Raksha-Kiran Shukla Award – 2015 for the Best M.V.Sc. Thesis

Dr. S. Pavulraj: Thesis entitled 'Pathology of Equine Influenza virus (H3N8) and vaccine efficacy studies in Balb/c mice model' ICAR-NRCE, Hisar and ICAR-IVRI, Izatnagar, under the supervision of Dr. Nitin Virmani and Dr. Rajendra Singh for award of M.V.Sc degree in Veterinary Pathology.

B. Dr. Patri Rama Rao Award – 2015 for the Best Ph.D. Thesis

Dr. Dhanush Krishna, B.: Thesis entitled "Cellular and molecular response to bioscaffold grafts in a rat abdominal regeneration model" submitted to Department of Veterinary Pathology, College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Mannuthy, Kerala, under the supervision of Dr. N. Divakaran Nair for the award of Ph.D. degree in Veterinary Pathology.

5. IAVP-Achievement Awards – 2015

- A. Dr. D.J. Ghodsara: Best Poultry Pathologist, AAU, Anand
- B. **Dr. B.J. Trangodia:** Best Farm Animal Pathologist, NAU, Navsari
- C. **Dr. S.K. Mukhopadhyay:** Best Companion Animal Pathologist, WBUA&FS, Kolkata
- D. Dr. R.C. Ghosh: Best Laboratory Animal Pathologist, CKV, Durg
- E. **Dr. S.K. Panda:** Best Wild life Pathologist, OU&AT, Bhuwaneshwar
- F. **Dr. Ch. Srilatha:** Dr. B.L. Purohit Memorial Best Toxicologic Pathologist, SVVU, Tirupati

6. Fellowship of IAVP – 2015

- A. **Dr. R.N. Sharma,** School of Veterinary Medicine, St. George's University, Grenada, West Indies
- B. Dr. A. Chakraborti, Assam Agricultural University, Guwahati
- C. **Dr. P.K. Sahu**, Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, Bhubaneshwar

7. Dr. P.P. Gupta Oration Award – 2015

Dr. P.R. Vanamayya: Presented paper on the topic 'Role of veterinary pathologists in combating transboundary animal diseases.'

8. Prof. (Dr.) S. Ramachandran Memorial Award – 2015 for the Best Presentation on Molecular Oncology

Dr. Sajitha, I.S.: On paper entitled 'Unfolded protein response (UPR) - a transient response of drug tolerant cancer cells?' **Co-authors:** S.L. Santhik, Rahul Sanawar, Rajesh Raju, G. Reshmi, Arun Surendran, K.A. Abdul Jaleel, T.R. Santhosh Kumar and M. Radhakrishna Pillai

9. Dr. Balwant Singh Memorial Lecture (One time special activity)

Dr. Amarjit Singh: Presented paper on Cytokine applications in poultry. **Co-authors:** Laltlankimi, GADVASU, Ludhiana

10. Dr. B.L. Purohit Memorial Lecture (One time special activity)

Dr. M.V. Joshi: Presented paper on Emerging issues of toxicopathology through high water salinity on animal and poultry health. **Co-authors:** R.S. Ingole and M.M. Pundlik, N.V.C., Nagpur

11. Veterinary Pathology Congress-2015, Thematic Lecture Award, 2015

Prof. Matti Kiupel: Presented paper on 'Veterinary molecular pathology bridging the gap between clinical disease and molecular pathogenesis'. Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation, Diagnostic Center for Population and Animal Health, College of Veterinary Medicine, Michigan State University, Lansing, MI 48910

12. Veterinary Pathology Congress-2015, Continuing Veterinary Pathology Education Award, 2015

Prof. Matti Kiupel: Presented mega lecture on 'Gross and histopathology of pig diseases'

13. IAVP President Best EC Worker Award – 2015

Dr Rajveer Singh Pawaiya: Chief Editor, Indian Journal of Veterinary Pathology, Division of Animal Health, ICAR-Central Institute for Research on Goats, Makhdoom, P.O. Farah – 281122, Mathura, UP.